Not listed 86-87 ILPC Awards 1985-86

Tops in Texas

Panther Prints, Duncanville. Adviser: Mary Pulliam

The Lair, Irving. Adviser: Sherri Taylor

Tops in Texas Individual Achievement Awards


Junior High: Falcon Cry, Austin: Fulmore
Page-in-Local-Paper: Upward Bound, Atlanta
M-l: Roosevelt Reveille, Lubbock: Roosevelt
M-2: The Palantir, Euless-Trinity
P-l: Panther Spirit, Follett
P-2: Good Times Collection, Alvarado
P-3: The Eagle Echo, Mont Belvieu: Barbers Hill
P-4: Cat's Tale, Sulphur Springs
P-5: Featherduster, Austin: Westlake
P-6: The Southerner, Austin: Travis
P-7: Clark Chronicles, San Antonio: Clark


Junior High: The Falcon, Austin: Fulmore
Y-l: The Redfish, Austwell: Austwell-Tivoli
Y-2: Golden Eagle, Junction
Y-3: Vandalite, Van
Y-4: Nor'wester, Justin: Northwest
Y-5: El Paisano, Austin: Westlake
Y-6: The Lair, Irving
Y-7: The Deer, Deer Park

Tops in Division
Newspaper Yearbook

News Writing - Shannon Beynon, Austin: Westlake, Featherduster
Feature Writing - Kim Streetman, Sundown, The Roustabout
Sports Writing - Shilpa Bhatia, Katy: Taylor, Mane Event
Editorial Writing - Greg Pak, Dallas: Hillcrest, Hillcrest Hurricane
Entertainment Review - Eden Hearne, Austin: Lake Travis, Cavalier Chronicle
General Column Writing - Jason Witherspoon, San Antonio: Alamo Heights, Hoof Print. Sports
Column Writing - Kelly Foote, Duncanville, Panther Prints
Editorial Cartoon - Gerald Kelley, Lubbock, Westerner World
Student Art - Steven Lait, Houston: Memorial, Anvil
Feature Photography - John Layton, Round Rock, Spitfire
Spot News Photography - John Layton, Round Rock, Spitfire
Sports Photography - John Layton, Round Rock, Spitfire
Page One Layout - Julia Barton, Dallas: Skyline, Skyline Tribune
One-Shot Advertisement - Chris Kohnen, Houston: Spring Woods, The Regit
In-Depth News Feature - Susan Boren and Sara Waldrop, Copperas Cove, Blue Beacon
Photo Story - John Layton, Round Rock, Spitfire

Theme Development - Kyle Dreier, Irving, The Lair
Division Pages - Kyle Dreier, Irving, The Lair
Student Life Spread - Henry Miller and Shirley Ketterman, Temple, Cotton Blossom
Sports Spread - Piper Parsons, Garland: North Garland, Marauder
Academic Spread - Meg George, Austin: Westlake, El Paisano
Class Section Spread - Liz Hargis, Angleton, Angle
Organization Spread - Shara Stuart, DeSoto, Eagle
Ad/Community Spread - Angi Emerson, Austin: Westlake, El Paisano
Portrait Photography - John Moore, Irving, The Lair
Feature Photography - Bryan Cumby, Garland: North Garland, Marauder

Golden Quill Awards
Newspaper Yearbook

Cat's Tale, Canadian
'Roon and White, Booker
Blue Beacon, Copperas Cove
Caledonian, Conroe: McCullough
Lake Reflections, League City: Clear Lake.

Cotton Blossom, Temple
Pirate '85, Wylie
Cat's Paw, Sulphur Springs
Los Tejas, Overton
The Flashlight, Abilene.

Teacher Awards

Edith Fox King Award
for distinguished contributions and outstanding devotion to scholastic journalism in Texas included:

Linda Duncan, Deer Park
Sarah Lively, Austin: Fulmore
Janetta Lamb, Groom
Ann Brannen, Pasadena: Dobie
Linda Winder, Angleton
B.J. Tucker, Sour Lake: Hardin-Jefferson

Max R. Haddick Teacher of the Year Award
Barbara Henry, Winona