97-98 99-00 ILPC Awards 1998-99

Gold/Silver/Bronze Star Awards

Newspaper Yearbook
Featherduster, Austin Westlake HS
Panther Prints, Duncanville HS
Edition, Austin Anderson HS
Hillcrest Hurricane, Dallas Hillcrest HS
Caledonian, The Woodlands HS
Tartan, The Woodlands McCullough Middle School
Uproar, Mansfield HS
Carillon 1998, Houston Bellaire HS,
1998 Flashlight, Abilene HS
The Lion, McKinney HS
Panther Tale, Duncanville HS
1998 Hornet, San Antonio East Central
Odyssey, Christa McAuliffe Middle School, San Antonio

Round Up, Andrews HS
The Lion, Henderson HS
The Liberator, Austin Lyndon Johnson
Stampede, El Paso Burges HS
Maroon, Austin Stephen F. Austin HS
Silver Streak, Amarillo Randall HS
Highlander 1998, Dallas Highland Park
Treasure Chest 1998, Amarillo Randall
Hoofbeats ’98, El Paso Burges HS
The Deer 1998, Deer Park HS
Comet 1998, Austin Stephen F. Austin

The Tattler, Angleton HS
Falcon Cry, Austin Fulmore Middle School
Three Penny Press, Houston Bellaire HS
Bagpipe, Dallas Highland Park HS
West Thompson Street Journal, Decatur
The Chronicle, San Antonio Tom Clark
The Talon, Lake Dallas HS
Panther Spirit, Follett HS
Panther 1998, Longview Spring Hill HS
Highlander ’ 98, The Woodlands McCullough JH
1998 Paladin, Mayde Creek HS
The Hawk, Texarkana Pleasant Grove HS
Marauder 1998, Flower Mound Marcus
Dragon 1998, Round Rock HS
1998 Prowler, Sugar Land Kempner HS
La Saga ’ 98, Amarillo Caprock HS
The Panther, Dallas Hillcrest HS
Heritage ’ 98, Round Rock Westwood HS
Reata ’ 98, Houston Memorial HS

Tops in Texas Individual Achievement Awards


News Writing - Stephanie Byrd, DeSoto
News Feature Writing - Andy Wade, The Woodlands
Editorial Writing - Ashley Tomkins, Brownsboro
Sports Action Writing - Dustin Finley, Adrian Hernandez, Duncanville
Sports Feature Writing - Jay Shek, Richardson Pearce
Feature Writing - Erin Steele & Megan Greer, Lake Dallas
Entertainment Review - Josh Martin, Grapevine
Entertainment Feature - Claudia Chavez, El Paso Burges
Photo Story - Matt Slocum, Kim Diggles, Duncanville
General Column - Sarah Swenson, The Woodlands McCullough JH
Sports Column - Avery Holton, Cypress Fairbanks
In-depth News/Feature - Ryan Pittman, McKinney
In-depth News Package - John Heath & Ailin Nguyen, Austin Anderson
Student Art - Spencer Matern, DeSoto
Computer Art - Lauren Roper & Brandon Boyd, Dallas Hillcrest
Editorial Cartoon - Tom Chen Li, San Antonio Clark
Page 1 Layout - Megan Middleton, Mansfield
General News Photo - Ben Dickey, Austin LBJ
Feature Photo - Brianna Ramsey, Iraan
Sports Action Photo - Matthew Slocum, Duncanville
Sports Feature Photo - Beau Russo, Westlake HS (Austin)


Theme Selection & Development - Johanna Rick, Duncanville
General Interest Spread - Laura Pearson, Dallas Hillcrest
Student Life Spread - Stephanie Cook, Red Oak
Sports Spread - Tish Mitchusson, Josh Fitch, Amarillo Randall
Academic Spread - Julie Miller, Dallas Highland Park
Class Section Spread - Anne Tasian, Dallas Highland Park
Club/Organization Spread - Renee Gonzales, Duncanville
Open category - Hili Banjo, Kate Mider, Tracy Davis, Dallas Hillcrest
Student Life Feature Story - Andrea Adams, Hurst LD Bell
Academic Feature Story - Jenny George, Dallas Hillcrest
Sports Feature Story - Hedda Barber, Austin Fulmore Middle School
Club and Organization Feature Story - Mandy Magness & Suzie Tant, Winona
Theme Copy - Staff, McCullough Jr. High, The Woodlands
Sports Action Photo - Megan Stephens, Dallas Highland Park
Sports Feature Photo - Michael Palmer, Dallas Hillcrest
Academic Photo - Kaci Cook, Wall
Non-Academic Photo - Michael Palmer, Dallas Hillcrest

Teacher Awards

Edith Fox King Award
for distinguished contributions and outstanding devotion to scholastic journalism in Texas included:

John Atkinson, Houston Clear Lake
Dr. Tom Buckner, McLennan Community College, Waco
Janice Cummons, Houston Stratford HS
Beverly Davis, Liberty HS
Brenda Gardner, Devine HS
Neva Hand, Henderson HS
Bill Kopf, Lubbock HS
Rhonda Moore, Austin Bowie HS
Mike Parker, Taylor Publishing Co.
Thread Sheffield, Jostens, Inc.

Max R. Haddick Teacher of the Year Award
Janet Elbom, Austin Johnston HS