98-99 00-01 ILPC Awards 1999-2000

Gold/Silver/Bronze Star Awards

Newspaper Yearbook
The Uproar, Mansfield HS
Eagle Eye, DeSoto HS
Hillcrest Hurricane, Dallas Hillcrest HS
The Edition, Austin Anderson HS
Panther Prints, Duncanville HS
Featherduster, Austin Westlake HS
Treasure Chest, Canyon Randall HS
Panther Paw, Pflugerville HS
Panther Tale, Duncanville HS
The Lion, McKinney HS

Rampage, Alief Elsik HS
Silver Streak, Canyon Randall HS
Bagpipe, Dallas Highland Park HS
The Marquee, Lewisville Marcus HS
Warrior Post, Arlington Martin HS
Cougar’s Roar, Houston Holland MS
Stampede, El Paso Burges HS
Round Up, Andrews HS
Falcon Cry, Austin Fulmore MS
The Mustang, Andrews HS
Hoofbeats, El Paso Burges HS
The Panther, Dallas Hillcrest HS
Carillon, Houston Bellaire HS
Hornet, San Antonio East Central HS
Kodiak, Austin Bailey MS
Flashlight, Abilene HS
The Hawk, Texarkana Pleasant Grove HS

Talon, Richardson HS
Twisting Times, San Antonio Heritage MS
The Liberator, Austin LBJ HS
Panther Prowl, Pflugerville HS
Mane Events, McKinney HS
Three Penny Press, Houston Bellaire HS
Panther Spirit, Follett HS
The Caledonian, Conroe The Woodlands HS
Maroon, Austin HS
Rampage, San Antonio Marshall HS
The Wildcat, Whitehouse HS
The Golden Eagle, Houston Cypress Falls HS
Highlander, Conroe McCullough JH
The Falcon, Houston Jersey Village HS
Ramblings, Alief Elsik HS
Marauder, Lewisville Marcus HS
Bearkat 1999, Klein HS
Prowler, Sugar Land Kempner HS
Odyssey, San Antonio McAuliffe MS
Reatta, Houston Memorial HS
The Tiger, Mansfield HS

Tops in Texas Individual Achievement Awards


News Writing - Leilani McBrayer, DeSoto HS
News Feature - Shelby Downs and Vanessa Londoño, McKinney HS
Editorial Writing - George Beardall-Cook, Austin Fulmore MS
Sports Action Writing - Jonathan Smith, Tyler HS
Sports Feature Writing - Kristal Goehring, Lewisville Marcus HS
Feature Writing - Susan Babb, Angleton HS
Entertainment Review - Paige Davis and Stephanie Retherford, Lake Dallas HS
Entertainment Feature - Adam Hasler, Austin Westlake HS
Photo Story - Adrian Hernandez, Conrado Perales, Samanthia Caviness, Shauna Slovak, Duncanville HS
General Column - Jessica Swind, Brownsville Hanna HS
Sports Column - Stephanie Holder, Angleton HS
In Depth News/Feature Story - Doug Morrill, Pflugerville HS
In Depth News/Feature Package - Mildred Yuan and others, Austin Westlake HS
Student Art - Spencer Matern, DeSoto HS
Computer Art - Alan Ricks, Dallas Hillcrest HS
Editorial Cartoon - Amy Cunningham, Dallas Hillcrest HS
Page One Design - Elizabeth Egeland, DeSoto HS
General News Photo - Samanthia Caviness, Duncanville HS
Feature Photo - Carolyn Smith, Andrews HS
Sports Action Photo - Alexandria Kenig, Austin Westlake HS
Sports Feature Photo - Ashley Waits, DeSoto HS


Theme Selection and Development - Canyon Randall HS, Laura Brown, Christin Boudreaux, Karen Williams
Theme Copy - Renee Gonzales, Duncanville HS
Student Life Spread - Jenni Heinritz, Duncanville HS
Sports Spread - Krystle Loyland, Canyon Randall HS
Academic Spread - Alice Stoddard, Duncanville HS
Class Section Spread - Alex Tafreshi, McCullough JH
Club/Organization Spread - Jodi Homen, Groom HS
General Interest Spread - Danielle Lindsey, Ashley Lindsey, Jennifer Secrest, Texarkana Pleasant Grove HS
Open Category - Renee Gonzales, Duncanville HS
Student Life Feature Story - Sarah Bass, Dallas Hillcrest HS
Academic Feature Story - Lesley Lawrence, White Oak HS
Sports Feature Story - Valerie Flattman, El Paso Burges HS
Club/Organization Feature Story - Ann Ng, Austin Fulmore MS
Sports Action Photo - Matt Slocum, Duncanville HS
Sports Feature Photo - Matt Slocum, Duncanville HS
Academic Photo - Rosie Rodriguez, Houston Memorial HS
Non-Academic Photo - Nathan Gasser, NRH Richland HS

Teacher Awards

Edith Fox King Award
for distinguished contributions and outstanding devotion to scholastic journalism in Texas included:

Dixie McGrath, Austin Hill Country MS
Edie Boykin, Sugar Land Kempner HS
Mitzi Neely, Longview Spring Hill HS
Pat Vance, Pasadena HS

Max R. Haddick Teacher of the Year Award
Pam Smith, San Antonio East Central HS